By ankara I don’t mean the capital of Turkey but the African prints that are taking fashion by storm. Ankara is the term these fabrics are known by in Africa.

The bold and vibrant fabric has long been used to sew traditional African outfits but now it’s being used in mainstream fashion and celebrities such as Lady Gaga, Rihanna and Gwen Stefani have been pictured wearing ankara outfits.

Christopher Bailey for Burberry Prorsum S/S 2012 collection showcased the ankara material with elegance.

Photo credit: Vogue.com

The best thing about ankara is that the colour gives an outfit instant glamour and with minimal accessories the prints are bold enough to make a statement on their own.

Seeing what Burberry has done with ankara has motivated me to think outside the box when I use the material. For now, here are some pics of me wearing ankara:

I’m going to set myself the project of sewing ankara material in a modern and fashion forward way. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

May

x

